The list of six Local Governments and nine Local Government Development Areas the government of Lagos state placed Okada ban have been made public.

Recall that Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, today imposed a fresh ban on operations of commercial motorcycles popularly called Okada following the lynching and murder of a sound engineer in Lekki, Lagos.

The governor gave out the directive at a meeting with the Commissioner of Police, Area Commanders and Divisional Police Officers at the State House in Alausa on Wednesday.

Effective from June 1, 2022, the governor directed security operatives to enforce the proscription order across the listed councils.

The fresh Okada ban followed the February 2020 restriction placed on the activities of commercial motorcycles.

Sanwo-Olu said the government took the decision in line with the State’s Transport Sector Reform Law of 2018 to immediately address the chaos and menace created by the operations of Okada in the listed areas.

The affected councils are Eti-Osa, Ikeja, Surulere, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, and Apapa.

Full list of affected local governments and local council development areas


Apapa Iganmu  LCDA


Ojodu LCDA

Onigbongbo LCDA

Lagos Island

Lagos Island West LCDA

Lagos Island East LCDA

Lagos Mainland



Coker Aguda LCDA

Itire-Ikate LCDA


Eti-Osa East LCDA

Eti-Osa West LCDA

Iru Victoria Island LCDA

Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA

Sanwo-Olu said the total ban order extends to all LCDAs under the listed councils.

The governor advised residents patronising Okada riders on highways to embrace the alternative transport schemes already provided by the government to plan their journey.

 86 total views,  2 views today

By @Gbengs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: